14 Ways to Celebrate Valentine’s Day No Matter What Your Relationship Status Is

conversation heart{via}

I’ve never been one to hate on Valentine’s Day, even when I was single. OK, maybe I hated on it a little bit when I was single and in my early twenties, but when I single and in my mid-twenties, I started learning how to appreciate the holiday and even celebrate it despite my singledom. Over the last few years, I’ve grown to really love Valentine’s Day and see it as a holiday that’s meant for everyone to celebrate, not just those who are in a relationship. So today, I want to share the fun ways I’ve celebrated Valentine’s day in the past when I was single, and how I celebrate it today:

If you’re single…

1) Plan a girls’ night in. Invite some of your girlfriends over for a night of drinks, snacks, and chick flicks. If chick flicks aren’t your thing, forget them and focus on the good company instead! One of my favorite ways to hang out with my girlfriends is to host a Wine Night: everyone brings a bottle of wine or a snack to share, and we spend the evening getting tipsy off of Pinot Noir while catching up on each others’ lives. Wine + girl talk = THE BEST

2) Treat yourself to a spa day. Get your hair did. Get a facial. Get a pedicure. It doesn’t matter what you get as long as you treat yo’ self.

3) Take yourself out to lunch. And I don’t mean to Chipotle or Panera Bread. I mean wine and dine yourself. I did this on Valentine’s day a few years ago pre-Chris: I went to one of my favorite restaurants, sat at the bar, ordered a glass of wine with my lunch, and even ordered dessert afterward. To this day, that lunch is one of the best dining experiences I’ve ever had, probably because I wasn’t afraid to be seen “eating alone,” especially on Valentine’s Day.

4) Go shopping. I will find any excuse to take myself on a mini shopping spree, Valentine’s Day included.

5) Buy yourself flowers. Because all the single ladies deserve flowers on V-Day, too!

If you’re in a relationship…

6) Collaborate on a fun date night out. You pick the restaurant, he picks the activity (movie, mini golf, bowling, etc.) or vice versa.

7) Or save money and plan a date night in. Cook for your man while he picks out some romantic comedies for the two of you to watch after dinner.

8) Make your man a meaningful gift instead of buying one. I made this book for Chris last year and he loved it!

9) Surprise your man with his favorite sweet treat. I’ve already bought Chris all of his favorite candies and plan to bake him a dozen of his favorite cookies. Hopefully he doesn’t get a stomachache from all that sugar!

10) Remind your man why you love him. Sure, it’s good to remind your S.O. that you love him, but sometimes it’s nice to remind your man of the reasons WHY you love him, too. Is it because of he has a big heart? He makes you laugh? He’s a good listener? He’s super intelligent? Let him know!

For any woman…

11) Buy yourself something sexy from Victoria’s Secret. Whether it’s lingere or underwear, buying a little somethin’-somethin’ for yourself at VS is an easy way to feel sexy.

12) Send out Valentine’s Day cards to your girlfriends. I love sending mail, and I find that Valentine’s Day is the perfect excuse to do so. Last year, I started the tradition of sending out little Valentines to my girlfriends, whether they’re single or taken. I can’t wait to carry on the tradition this year!

13) Bring a sweet treat into work for your co-workers. I’ve done this many times in the past and plan on doing it again this year since I’ll be working on Valentine’s Day. In the past, I’ve brought in chocolate; this year, I think I’ll bring in homemade cookies.

14) Tell someone you love them. Whether it’s your lover, bestie, family member, or pet– share the love!

What is one of your favorite ways to celebrate Valentine’s Day?

13 thoughts on “14 Ways to Celebrate Valentine’s Day No Matter What Your Relationship Status Is

    • Chris and I love staying in, too. But for special occasions, we force ourselves to get dressed up and go out! We need to take advantage of the freedom to go out while we still can. It’s going to be a lot harder if we have kids someday! 😛

Leave a comment